Dome & Dilemma

For today’s run we decided to try out the Hampshire Dome in Milford, NH.  The facility has 3 turf fields and an indoor track. (Photo is from an indoor race at the facility – not taken today.)

It was an interesting experience to run on the surface of an Olympics quality Mondo Super X Running track. It felt fantastic. The banked corners were unique and even after taking them over and over…they still felt weird under my feet.

Running dilemma:  when I increased my distances to 8-10 mile runs over the past month I developed an ache along the upper thigh/groin area on my left side.  Back in December I had looked up medical problems that included my symptoms with no clear conclusions as I didn’t have any other symptoms.  The niggling ache/tightness has persisted after runs over 5 miles.  Tonight was the first time that it began while running and bothered the run itself. I found the tightness changing my gait and felt the dull pain with every stride after 4 miles.  Unfortunately I wasn’t able to enjoy the dome track to its potential, as I struggled with mine.

šŸ˜¦ stop running to heal? …not something I am willing to do right now

šŸ˜¦ persist in my training and racing and cause more damage?…possibly

šŸ˜¦ sports hernia?…likely diagnosis if I can see an experienced sports physician

 HELLO BODY — I have big plans and you just need to fall into line. Hear me?! 

 

About runs4beer

We run so we can drink a nice cold draft...a local brew... a pint of heaven. We run to challenge ourselves and to reach a new goal. I blog here so I can put into writing how I feel about running and my health, both physical and mental.
This entry was posted in Janathon Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment